Nutritious and Delicious Kale Slaw with Red Cabbage, Carrot, and Apple

14 Nov

In the summer, I discovered that raw kale is far superior to cooked kale.  If left to marinate long enough, raw kale goes from being “grassy” (in the wise words of E) to fairly neutral in taste.  Best of all, it’s a sturdy green that keeps its texture days after being dressed.

The most recent addition to my cookbook collection, the Moosewood Collectives, is full of tasty, nutritious, and hearty recipes.  I’m itching to try each and every one of them… if only there were more hours in the day.  Last week, I came across a delicious sounding recipe for a “Raw Slaw.”  Kale, red cabbage, carrot, and apple.  It sounded easy enough, plus it was another way to lessen my apple stockpile.  The recipe also called for the addition of fresh thyme, which I was hesitant to purchase.  Not because I don’t like thyme (in fact, I love it– the smell reminds me of my Mom’s old garden), but simply because I knew the leftover thyme would sit in my fridge and spoil.  As it turns out, the thyme was a nice addition but does not make the salad.  Feel free to include it or omit it as you see fit.

All in all, this salad was deeeeeeeeelicious!  So delicious that I made it not once but TWICE last week.  Partially because I now have a massive head of red cabbage in the fridge that needs to be used up.  Rotkraut anyone?

Kale Slaw with Red Cabbage, Carrot, and Apple

 

Our Favorite Raw Slaw (from Moosewood Restaurant: Cooking for Health)

3 tbsp olive oil
2 tbsp cider vinegar
1/2 tsp salt
1/8 tsp ground black pepper
1-1/2 tsp minced fresh thyme
dash of cayenne pepper
3 cups shredded kale, ribs removed
1 cup shredded red cabbage
1-1/2 cups grated carrots
1 cup grated apples

  1. In a cup, whisk together oil, vinegar, salt, pepper, thyme, and cayenne.  Set aside.
  2. In a large bowl, toss the kale, cabbage, carrot, and apple.  Add the marinade, stir well, and let sit at room temperature for at least 30 minutes.
  3. Serve at room temperature or chilled.

Makes 6 servings.  Per 1 cup serving: 92 kcal, 7 g fat, 1 g fibre, 212 mg sodium

 

Leave a Reply

