Cauliflower Mashed “Potatoes”

23 Dec

Words cannot describe how excited I was while making this dish a few weeks back.  The “science nerd-meets-dietitian” in me loves to experiment with food to make it healthier.  Lately, I’ve become a lot more comfortable making substitutions.  This newly adventurous Lisa has most likely emerged from my budget-conscious ways.  Living in the city is pricey, so I’m much more inclined to tweak a recipe here and there in order to use up what I have on hand rather than buy a dozen ingredients and follow the recipe to a tee.  The old Lisa would be very impressed with the new Lisa!

This recipe for “mock” mashed potatoes is made with pureed cauliflower.  Brilliant!  E and I both thought it tasted just like mashed potatoes but with a slightly different texture.  Although a little more moist than your typical side of mashed potatoes, the mashed cauliflower still held together nicely in a fluffy pile.  I wonder if an innocent dinner party guest would be able to tell the difference?  My mission for Holiday Season 2011: to fool an unsuspecting family member…

Merry Christmas to all!

Immersion Blender = best purchase of the year

Cauliflower Mashed "Potatoes"

 

“Mock” Garlic Mashed Potatoes  (adapted from Foodnetwork.com)

1 medium head of cauliflower, washed and cut into medium-sized florets
1 tbsp light cream cheese, softened (or plain yogurt, or sour cream)
1/4 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese
1/2 tsp minced garlic
1/8 tsp chicken or vegetable bouillon base (or use ~1/2 tsp salt)
1/8 tsp freshly ground black pepper

  1. Place a steamer basket inside a large pot and add 1-inch of water.  Add cauliflower florets, cover, and steam for approximately 15 minutes or until cauliflower is very tender but not mushy.
  2. In a bowl with an immersion blender, or in a food processor, puree the hot cauliflower with the cream cheese, Parmesan, garlic, bouillon, and pepper until smooth.

Makes 4 servings.  Per serving: 65 kcal, 2.3 g fat, 2.5 g fibre, 125 mg sodium.

5 Responses to “Cauliflower Mashed “Potatoes””

  1. Sarah Leo December 25, 2011 at 12:21 am #

    I’m DEFINITELY trying this. And I’m sorry I haven’t gotten to see you yet! But…I’m back in mid-Feb for a long while (basically until the end of May) so all is not lost.

    • lisa December 28, 2011 at 6:21 pm #

      I thought you would like this recipe, Sarah! It seems to be right up your alley.
      You’re back for several months in February? Electives?? More details, please!

  2. Christine King December 27, 2011 at 9:03 am #

    The Maine Kings love this! Sometimes we add a bit of sharp cheddar… not very good for the not so heart healthy.

    • lisa December 28, 2011 at 6:23 pm #

      After seeing a similar recipe in a cookbook several years ago, I’m upset that I hadn’t made this dish sooner! Sharp cheddar would be a delicious addition, Christine. I’ll have to keep that in mind for next time!

  3. tracyyy December 30, 2011 at 4:43 am #

    This post excited me for three reasons: a) Cauliflower is SO affordable and tasty (we will be feeling the financial stretch again when we move back to Melbourne); b) I am such a fan of doctoring recipes, especially because we are trying not to accrue anything while we travel; AND c) we have the same hand blender in the same colour!! Love!

Leave a Reply

