Homemade Tart Frozen Yogurt

14 Aug

Summer has been here for awhile but it feels like the blissful, laissez-faire days have only just begun.   If my less-than-impressive blogging track record wasn’t enough of a hint, the past few months were busily spent working towards finishing my internship.  Now that I’m officially done my training I have some free time to give my neglected appliances and cookbooks a bit of TLC before I enter the real world of work.

Frozen treats scream SUMMER! so what better way to celebrate the season than with the purchase of an ice cream maker?  Every magazine and blog that I’ve read over the past few weeks has featured delectable frozen recipes that I haven’t been able to make without this very specialized appliance.  A new machine wasn’t in the cards given my lack of income.  Coincidentally, a friend recently held a yard sale to prepare for her move to England so I was able to scoop up (no pun intended) her quality, barely-used ice cream maker for a bargain.

The plot (er, frozen yogurt) thickens…

The plan was to make peach frozen yogurt.  After realizing that my local Ontario peaches aren’t quite ripe enough, I opted for a basic tart yogurt similar to those found at self-serve FroYo joints.  I reduced the amount of sugar by a touch but the recipe could have easily used less.  The final product was soft and creamy, sweet yet tart.  Plus, it contained a whopping 12 grams of protein per serving thanks to the Greek yogurt.  A solid first attempt.  My next endeavor will be a little bit more more exotic… perhaps banana coconut or dark chocolate cherry. I’m open to suggestions!  E suggested a savory treat… salmon ice cream, anyone?

The final product! Homemade FroYo

Peach frozen yogurt came to fruition after all

 

Homemade Tart Frozen Yogurt
(adapted from FoodNetwork.com)

2 cups plain, whole-milk (3%) yogurt
2 cups plain, non-fat or low-fat (2%) Greek yogurt
1/3 cup superfine sugar
3 tbsp light or white corn syrup

Whisk all ingredients in a large bowl to combine.  Pour into an ice cream maker and freeze according to manufacturer’s instructions.

For a soft consistency, serve right out of the ice cream maker.  For a firmer texture, transfer the frozen yogurt to a covered container and freeze before serving.

Makes 4 and a half cups.  Per 3/4 cup (2 scoop) serving made with 2% Greek yogurt: 190 kcal, 4 g fat, 12 g protein.

N.B. If you don’t own an ice cream maker, a fabulous frozen treat can be made by pureeing frozen, chopped bananas with a small amount of milk to form a smooth, soft-serve consistency.  If you’re feeling really exotic, use coconut milk or chocolate milk, or add cocoa powder to taste. 

5 Responses to “Homemade Tart Frozen Yogurt”

  1. Sarah Leo August 14, 2012 at 10:15 pm #

    Wow that looks good. Today at lunch I had sliced peaches in plain Greek yogurt, but yours looks WAY better. If E’s looking for a savory kind, I would probably consider using some kind of soft cheese or cottage cheese and tomato…but if he really wants salmon what about a cottage cheese and smoked salmon fro-yo? Also, what do you guys think about cardamom-fennel-coconut (like a curry!) frozen yogurt? Or maybe a French Toast kind of yogurt by substituting the corn syrup for maple syrup and adding a whack of cinnamon and vanilla extract? I’m losing my mind over the possibilities!

    • lisa August 14, 2012 at 10:28 pm #

      Sarah, your creativity is brilliant! Those are such amazing suggestions. I actually have a can of coconut milk open in my fridge at the moment. And the french toast idea would totally work as a gelato, which typically contains egg yolks. When I googled savoury ice cream, several rave reviews popped up for Olive Oil ice cream and Avocado ice cream. You’re right… the possibilities are endless!

      • Sarah Leo August 15, 2012 at 8:32 pm #

        I would eat both of those. Especially if I could make the olive oil ice cream with a fig-and-balsamic-reduction ribbon. Oh yeah.

  2. Julie Frankel May 5, 2013 at 9:12 pm #

    My best find so far for ice cream not requiring an ice-cream maker: frozen bananas, meyer lemon juice, icing sugar and mascarpone. Blend and freeze. Amazing!

    • lisa May 5, 2013 at 9:24 pm #

      Sounds delicious! I’ve used frozen bananas before for “ice cream” but it was more of a sorbet as I didn’t add anything else. What ratio do you use?

Leave a Reply

