WANTED: Recipe Ideas for a Box of Scrumptious Produce

12 Sep

I just couldn’t contain my excitement over today’s Fresh City Farms box so I had to share!

Food Box

Clockwise from the bottom left:
White acorn squash, Shitake mushrooms, Pea shoots, Strawberries, Cherry tomatoes, Collard greens (again!), Carrots, Blue grapes, Lobo apples, and Yellow potatoes.

YUM.

Do you have any recipe suggestions to help me enjoy this box of goodies?

2 Responses to “WANTED: Recipe Ideas for a Box of Scrumptious Produce”

  1. Alex September 13, 2012 at 3:51 am #

    Oh man, I love collards, I would be happy to have them every week show up at my door 🙂 I love them in stews but another thing I do with them is use them as a wrap for a scrambled egg breakfast mixture. I shave down the stem so it is flush with the rest of the leaf, cut off the long bottom bit (save this for soups or stews, just chop and freeze) and then toss the leaves in boiling salted water for less than a minute or until they just soften. It is a yummy healthy gluten free breakie wrap!

    • lisa September 13, 2012 at 8:21 pm #

      Fabulous idea! I would have never thought to use the leaves for a wrap, but they’re nice and sturdy so I can see how it would work. Thanks Alex!

Leave a Reply

