Garlic Scape Pesto: a Dollop a Day Keeps the Vampires Away

10 Jul

I’m lucky if anyone is still reading this after a dismal 6 week hiatus from the blogosphere.  For those of you still following, my absence can be explained by the following photo…

DSC_0862a

Isn’t she sweet?!  I’ve learned a lot in my 5 weeks as a new mom.  In the early days, there was barely time to eat dinner (leaving a brand new puppy out of your sight for a split second has serious consequences!).  Luckily, we’re at the point where Cora will happily sit at my feet and occupy herself while I cook.

Enough about the dog.  Onto the food.

I’d be eating eggs or salad for dinner nightly if it weren’t for my Fresh City Farms box.  Thankfully, my produce-fairy-godmother leaves a bag of fresh, local veggies at my door every two weeks.  This inspires me to cook on the fly and allows odds and ends from the fridge to get used before they rot.  My most recent box contained a bunch of garlic scapes. The obvious thing to do was make garlic scape pesto. And that I did.

DSC_0873

DSC_0868

Garlic scapes are the green stalks of the garlic plant.  They have a slightly milder taste than garlic bulbs and can be used in stir-fries, marinades, or pureed into a pesto.  It was my first time using garlic scapes, and I decided to steal borrow inspiration from several recipes to come up with my own, lighter pesto.  When making pesto, the world is your oyster beyond the staple ingredients of garlic scapes (or basil in a traditional pesto), nuts, olive oil, and Parmesan. A green onion was thrown into the mix because I had one, and in lieu of boatloads of olive oil I added plain yogurt for creaminess.  In hindsight, I wish lemon juice came to mind as this would have added a really nice tang.  I also wish I hadn’t been too lazy to toast the almonds.  C’est la vie.

What a little rascal!

Little rascal

From the table to the floor in one quick swoop!

From the table to the floor in one quick swoop!

Overall, I’m pleased with how the pesto turned out.  The taste was IN YOUR FACE garlic with a serious bite.  Don’t make this for a first date.  Or if you plan on doing anything other than sitting on your rear for the remainder of the day.  On the bright side, Cora doesn’t seem to be bothered by my garlic breath.  She truly is a girl’s best friend.

DSC_0901

DSC_0905

Lightened-Up Garlic Scape Pesto

7-8 garlic scapes, washed and cut into 2-inch pieces
1 green onion, chopped
1/3 cup almonds (slivered or sliced), ideally toasted
1/4 cup olive oil
1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
1/4 cup plain yogurt
Salt and pepper to taste

  1. Puree garlic scapes, green onion, and almonds in the bowl of a food processor.
  2. Add olive oil, Parmesan cheese, and plain yogurt. Whirl well. Add salt and pepper to taste.  Pesto will be chunky.

Makes approximately 6 very garlicky servings.  Per serving: 150 kcal, 3 g CHO, 13.5 g fat (2.5 g saturated), 3.5 g protein, 75 mg sodium

One Response to “Garlic Scape Pesto: a Dollop a Day Keeps the Vampires Away”

  1. Janelle Long August 9, 2013 at 7:06 pm #

    Love this! We’re up at the cottage and have my Mom’s garden with which to experiment. Never knew what to do with garlic scapes, until now! Added the lemon juice too. Was overwhelmed by the smell of garlic in the blender initially, but makes a lovely pesto. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

